El fin

28 May

Everyone

After 8.5 months and 13 countries, today is the day I fly out of Lima and spend 47 hours on 3 different planes and in numerous airport terminals making my way to family and friends for a month in Bali.

It’s definitely not been one of those “finding myself” trips – in fact, I managed to lose money, clothes, brain cells, dignity and I’m sure a whole lot more along the way – though it has been the time of my life. Food, sights, parties, activities, adventures and most of all amazing new friends.

I’d like to thank the following (in order of appearance) – it wouldn’t have been the same without you…

  • Mumsy – because for every one of my achievements, she deserves a little thanks.
  • LBi – for paying me far too much money, which meant that I could be job free, budget free and worry free for 9 months.
  • The Advertising Industry – for making it so easy to leave.
  • Kel / Payno – for being the worlds best cousin and travel buddy I could ask for. This trip wouldn’t have started nor have been as amazing without you. Also, for patching me up after the knife accidents, kicked toes, splinters and all of the other various injuries.
  • Liam – for everything. Especially for putting up with me for almost every second of everyday for close to six months. Not so much for the beard.
  • Lee / Pinhead – for being the best friend a girl could hope for and someone that would fly all the way to Guatemala just to surprise a friend in the middle of nowhere. For staying just as close even though you’re a world away.
  • The Germans – for being so awesome, friendly and fun they went from travel acquaintances to life long friends in a few short weeks.
  • Josh / Puppy – for being one of the most best guys I have ever met. Remember that I still own you and you only left because I let you go.
  • Mark and Grace – for being you. For being the instigators. For being such good winners and losers at cards. Especially (SORRY) FOR PARTY ROCKIN.
  • Wes – for being a major babe and brilliant person to boot.
  • Petey – for being the best dive buddy I could hope for. Also, you have a sandy clam.
  • Tehmani – for the girl talks.
  • The Colombian Coffee Growers – for nothing.
  • Lyne and Mark – for being such avid readers of the blog. You probably won’t have a clue what Liam’s doing for the next month… unless he needs money.
  • Diazepam – for making travel and transit that little bit easier
  • To each and every country – for being amazing in your own unique way.
  • My stubbornness – for making me keep this blog so I can remember my trip when I’m old, gray and losing my marbles. Come to think of it, where did I put those?

That’s it. That’s all.

El fin.

5 Responses to “El fin”

  1. Steve May 28, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    Gday…I’m Liams uncle & have to say have so enjoyed your travels & writings.Thanks for keeping us in touch with what Nem has been up to & I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t have done half the shit he has unless you pushed.Peace & love….Stooley

    • shailei May 28, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

      Thanks so much for your message… Glad to know more than my own Mum and Mark and Lyne have been reading!

  2. Lettice June 2, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

    Has been a quality blog! Can’t wait to see you when you get back!
    Enjoy Bali!

    Lettice
    x

  3. Chelsea June 7, 2013 at 11:45 am #

    Thanks Shailei for keeping our family informed on what the hell my brother has been up to for the past year with out you we would never have seen or heard about any of the amazing things he has been doing I don’t know what we are going to do with out you informing us
    thanks for everything you have done for him
    hope you have a great time in bali
    love Chels

    • shailei June 7, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

      Hey Chelsea,

      Glad you enjoyed it – I honestly think there was more of the Neal clan reading the blog than there was my own family! Hahaha.

      Thanks for your message. Hope all is well with you.

      Lots of love from Bali.
      Shailei xx

Leave a Reply

